Oh No! Things Got Busy!

Hello my dear readers!
I apologize that my posts have become less frequent, however it seems I now have a new item to add to my schedule.ย  It seems I have taken on a new job and I have been undergoing training for the past week into this week, which has thrown me completely off my schedule.

The sudden change has taken a toll on me physically as well as mentally and so I am slowly learning to adapt to this new environment as well as figuring out adjustments to my normal posting schedules.

Poolside4

In the meantime I simply wanted to pop in here to give you all a quick update with some random pictures from my birthday.

My birthday was pretty uneventful, I got to spend a little bit of time in a family member’s pool before the storms rolled in. A dear friend of mine sent me a lovely children’s yukata with Chinese Bellflower fabric which I will be making a proper display for shortly (maybe a tutorial will accompany it).

Poolside7

I spent most of the day with Twyla and my boyfriend not really doing anything. Later, I went out for a drink special drink which is only served at a local bar on Wednesdays during the summer. Towards the end of the night I ended up with a job. (Yes, I am now a bartender.)

Pupper laying smile

Since then my life has consisted of on the job training. Since I am working on a training schedule my time is very limited and I do not have a set schedule yet. This job is pushing me to face a lot of my social anxiety, which of course has lead to quite a few panic attacks as well. I am very slowly learning to adjust my way of thinking to accommodate the needs of my environment.

Pupper sat look

I am also in the process of attempting to join the SCA. However, this is proving a little difficult with my new place of employment since the meetings for the SCA are held on a day in which I am always working. In the meantime, I have been putting together resources for me to use and creating an inspiration board on My Pintrest Page to help me put together my costumes and accessories.

Pupper ready

Part of my drive to join the SCA is coupled with my desire to return to a lost love of mine; archery. I had purchased a lovely take-down recurve bow a few months ago and I have yet to fire off one arrow. It’s been a little over 10 years since the last time I shot a bow so I expect that I will need a lot of practice. My hopes is that by joining the SCA I will have a community of others who will hold me accountable for my practice times as well as people from whom I can learn and become a better archer. (And maybe I can start working off some of this upper arm fat while I’m at it!)

All in all I have a lot of photoshoots I am planning, as well as costumes I am drafting or already working on. I am still working to improve my 17th century mourning dress, and I am also making repairs to my Norse “viking” dress as well as adjusting the fit.

I am hoping that by next week I will begin to have my final work schedule so that I can catch up on my blog, vlog, and start to work towards more of my goals. Sadly, because of the hours which I work it has been very difficult for me to do much of any exercising so I hope to get back to that soon as well.

I promise, things will improve here! Unfortunately I am in the middle of an adjustment period. Thank you for sticking around with me!

One thought on “Oh No! Things Got Busy!

  1. Congratulations for getting new job! I’m glad to hear, that everything is going good for you ๐Ÿ™‚
    Your birthday sounds really nice, to be honest I prefer to spend my special day only with my best friends and family. Usually I’m not organizing any party. Happy birthday by the way! ๐Ÿ™‚
    And at the end – I really like your tattoo on your arm ๐Ÿ™‚
    2 days ago I made my second tattoo (on my foot) but still I haven’t show it yet. I want to wait until it heal ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

