Nicknames and Aliases: Why “The Wayward Vixen”?

So let’s talk a little bit about the blog, it’s name, and my own alias. Why did I choose Freya Kikyo? What is a wayward vixen? And why do I choose a lifestyle blog instead of a more niche subject?

Let’s start with the blog name. . .

The word “wayward” has a couple different meanings. It was derived from “away-wards” as to say that someone is turning away from what is considered proper. Some of the other definitions can be; disobedient, willful, headstrong, unsteady, changeable, and contrary.  All of these definitions, I felt, accurately describe who I am as a person and what my life is (and has always been). Of course, I am sure my family and friends would agree with much of that.

I have always been a bit displaced in the world and I have never done what is expected of me. I rarely stick to one thing for very long and I am easily excited by something new. And so, I felt “wayward” would give you all an idea of what to expect from me and my work.

pexels-photo-134058.jpeg

When it comes to “vixen” I can assure you that it has nothing to do with the concept of an attractive woman, or being “foxy” in any sense of a sensual manner. Foxes have been a very important part of my life spiritually and emotionally, so naturally they are my favorite animal. You will come to see that I decorate much of my life with these clever critters. Personality wise, I have many fox-like tendencies

I had been using the surname Foxx as part of my modeling, dance, and photography work as well, so I felt it was a good idea to keep to the fox theme.

Now, as for my personal alias Freya Kikyo:

To begin, “kikyo” is the Japanese word for the balloon flower (also called the Chinese or Japanese bellflower). It is one of the seven flowers of autumn in Japanese culture, of course autumn is my favorite season and these lovely flowers bloom in late summer to early autumn.

I grow a couple different plants of these flowers and have them tattooed down my right rib cage (I have plans to have more of them tattooed too).

If you have read any of the other posts within this series you have probably already read about my use of this name throughout my life as well as my love for this flower. Though I promise you it will not be the last time I speak of them!

a53ab9ddc1c08f691aa429de89901bee

And finally Freya is a Germanic goddess of love, war, death, gold. beauty, destiny, and is known as the leader of the Valkyries. She is a very passionate goddess who is a seeker of pleasure and thrills. She also possesses a cape of falcon feathers which allows her to shape-shift into a falcon.

In some sagas she is credited as teaching magic (seidr) to humans. She is known by many different aliases which she takes upon herself as she walks the earth looking for her husband (who is often away for long periods of time).

I went with Freya with the help of my friends and because I can relate to this goddess. I too am known by many names and I am known to change based on my desires. I have been studying various types of magic and spirituality since I was just 7 years old. I was also happy to learn about a goddess who was known for both her physical beauty as well as her strength.

Freya is an inspirational figure to me and by carrying her name with me I hope to push myself to be stronger.

If you translate my alias literally it means Lady Bellflower which doesn’t sound very original but I do love it!

Finally, Why do I choose to write a lifestyle blog instead of working with a more prosperous niche?

I had started up several blogs prior to this one. I had a photography blog, two different magic/spirituality blogs, and a costuming blog but I constantly got distracted. I wanted to talk about more than just the niche topics that my blogs were designed around.

I had listened to other blogger’s advice about picking a topic and sticking to it. Even though I have pages upon pages of posts to write about, I find that I want to include everything I am passionate about. I can’t just stick to one subject. I guess that’s just the wayward type of girl I am!

Simply; I want to do it all!

 

One thought on “Nicknames and Aliases: Why “The Wayward Vixen”?

  1. It’s interesting genesis 😉 When I was starting with my public blog (some time ago I had private blog) I was thinking about the name long time. Finally I made some name, but I’m still not sure if it’s the best one. But you know, I like my blog, a lot of people know it so I don’t want to change it now. I also started writing in english and maybe one day I’ll make one domain for both – polish and english blog 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

